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Patrol statistics reveal speeding as cause of 58 percent of  
juvenile at-fault traffic crashes 

Patrol reminds teen drivers of graduated driver license law 
 
 

COLUMBUS – The Ohio State Highway Patrol released statistics today that illustrate during 2006 to 
2008 speed was a factor in 58 percent of the crashes that were caused by juvenile drivers. During this 
three-year period, juvenile drivers were at fault in 61,784 traffic crashes, resulting in 27,838 injuries 
and 212 deaths on Ohio roadways. 
 
Troopers issued 34,921 citations to juvenile drivers over the three-year period. Of these citations, 
1,199 were in Clermont County and 1,144 in Stark County. Rounding out the top five counties were 
Portage with 887 citations, Fairfield with 879 and Scioto with 874.  
 
Through July of this year, there were 8,018 crashes caused by juvenile drivers, resulting in 2,315 
injuries and 16 deaths. During this time troopers have issued 5,133 citations to teen drivers, with 18 
percent being for driving 20 mph or more over the posted speed limit. 
 
“Teen drivers will be out on the roadways on a regular basis with the start of school, extra-curricular 
activities and sporting events,” Colonel Richard H. Collins, Patrol superintendent said. “We need to 
remind our young drivers of the consequences of not obeying traffic laws and the importance of the 
graduated driver license law.” 
 
Under Ohio’s graduated driver license law, teens have a one non-family passenger limit, with all 
passengers ages 4 to 15 required to wear a safety belt regardless of where they are sitting in the 
vehicle. Teen drivers under the age of 17 cannot drive between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m.; those 
17 years of age and up to the age of 18 cannot drive between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. 
 
To view the juvenile driver statistical report, please visit www.statepatrol.ohio.gov 
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