• Image One
  • Image Two
  • Image Three
  • Image Four
  • Image Six
  • Image Eight
  • Image Nine
  • Image Ten
  • Image Eleven
  • Image Thirteen
 

Ohio State Highway Patrol Dispatcher

 

 

Job Duties

  • Receives and transmits radio communications
  • Dispatches patrol officers and operates equipment for the purpose of law enforcement, traffic control, accident investigation, motorist assistance and security on behalf of the Ohio Department of Public Safety and other state agencies
  • Operates the Law Enforcement Automated Data System (LEADS) terminal which will receive and transmit messages
  • Interprets messages received and routes the information to the appropriate person
  • Maintain radio log, prepares and types reports, maintains proper files for correspondences and reports
  • Receives and records all telephone calls
  • Provides information and/or directions to the general public
  • Greets and assists visitors to the patrol facility
  • Provides liaison services to the area communities and other public agencies. Performs other related duties as required
  • Performs other related duties as required

Career Opportunities

  • CAD Specialist
  • Dispatcher Supervisor
  • CAD Administrator
  • Dispatcher Manager



Salary

  • Starting salary - $18.39-$21.83 per hour
  • Note – This position may be required to travel to other dispatch centers as needed

Benefits

  • Health Insurance
  • State paid life insurance
  • OSTA Union
  • Deferred Comp
  • Workers compensation protection
  • Ohio Public Employees Retirement System (OPERS)
  • Two to Six weeks paid vacation per year
  • Ten paid days of sick leave per year
  • Four personal leave days per year
  • Ten paid holidays per year
  • Tuition reimbursement program
  • Uniforms and dry cleaning provided
  • Occupational injury leave

 



Unusual Working Conditions

  • Works weekends and holidays with rotating days off
  • Individual could be confined to work area and sitting for long periods of time at a personal computer terminal
  • Dispatch area could have constant noise from telephone ringing and radio traffic
  • Individual could be exposed to stressful working conditions involving performance of multiple, critical tasks simultaneously to ensure the safety and welfare of highway patrol units and the general public



Minimum Qualifications

  • High School Diploma or GED
  • Reading, writing and proficient at the English language
  • 1 course or 3 months experience in typing, operating a personal computer and word processing or equivalent of minimum class qualifications for employment noted above

Agency Preferred Qualifications

  • Possess training or experience in dispatching with knowledge of law enforcement procedures
  • Six months experience in public relations
  • Possess working knowledge of LEADS and 12 months experience in operation of computer
  • Valid Ohio Class “D” drive license

 



To be considered for a position as a Highway Patrol Dispatcher, the applicant must successfully complete the following:


  • Application found at careers.ohio.gov
  • CritiCall testing
  • Personal Interview
  • Polygraph Examination
  • Background Investigation
  • Drug Screen
  • Vision and Hearing Test

 

District Map



OSP Hub – Dispatch Management

Lydia G. Frey
Dispatcher Manager
lfrey@dps.ohio.gov

Adrienne J. Sheffer
CAD Administrator
ajsheffer@dps.ohio.gov



Dispatcher Supervisors

Laura Windbigler
Columbus Communications Center
lawindbigler@dps.ohio.gov

Cheryl Pratt
Findlay District
Clpratt@dps.ohio.gov

Blue

Denise Blue
Findlay District
dsblue@dps.ohio.gov

Davius Reichelderfer
Bucyrus District
dreichelderfer@dps.ohio.gov

Rhonda Eck
Bucyrus District
reck@dps.ohio.gov

Trevor Heavlin
Cleveland District
Trevor.Heavlin@dps.ohio.gov

Jennifer Pakish
Cleveland District
jjpakish@dps.ohio.gov

Dina Slager
Cleveland District
dlslager@dps.ohio.gov

Dorothy O’Neil-Meleski
Warren District
DEONeil-Meleski@dps.ohio.gov

Dane Mowen
Piqua District
DMowen@dps.ohio.gov

Jason Hack
Piqua District
JMHack@dps.ohio.gov

Jacqueline Miller
Columbus District
JDMiller@dps.state.oh.us

Heather Evans
Columbus District
heevans@dps.ohio.gov

Jennifer Moran
Cambridge District
JDMoran@dps.ohio.gov

Patty Downing
Wilmington District
PDowning@dps.ohio.gov

Julie Jackson
Wilmington District
JMJackson1@dps.ohio.gov

Jason Saunders
Jackson District
jlsaunders@dps.ohio.gov


Hiring – Once an applicant has successfully passed the Criticall test, they are placed in a pool for the dispatch center locations they listed on their application. Once an opening occurs at a facility, applications are reviewed and selections are made for interviews.

Training – Training for new dispatchers is 60 days with an additional 5 days if the dispatcher is hired as a traveler. The dispatcher is required to work 10 days on each of the three shifts and the remaining 30 days are scheduled by the dispatcher supervisor and trainer. The dispatcher is also required to attend Dispatch Orientation, Computer Aided Dispatch (CAD) class in Columbus, Ohio, and two days of riding in a patrol car with a uniformed officer.

Dispatchers bid for shifts in three month increments. Every six months, dispatchers bid for the following six month period, broken up into two segments of approximately three months each. Shift bidding is completed by seniority.

Questions? Contact OSP Hub – Dispatch Management at 614-799-4656 or lfrey@dps.ohio.gov